Battle Report: Eldar vs Iron Devourers 2000 points


Hoo boy, what a bloodbath!

This was the first time I’d ever played Eldar. My opponent challenged me on an internet forum, and as I didn’t know him, or what army he had, I’d tried to make a balanced (ish!) list. I could be playing Space Marines, Orks, Eldar, even Imperial Knights for all I knew.

Now, I will say, usually I love taking lots of photos, but in this game I managed to lose my phone until right near the end. Whoops. I’ll include what pictures I have, though. It’s a real shame, because the army I was playing was beautifully painted, and looked brilliant when fielded. Ah, well.

Also, due to the not-having-photographic-proof, I can’t remember the specifics of a lot of things! I usually use the photos to jog my memory. I’ll write what I can remember, though.

Big Guns Never Tire2000 points, Hammer and Anvil. Opponent: wyvern_sieyes. Location: The Old Duke, Bristol, via Bristol Vanguard.

Now, my Eldar knowledge is appauling. I’ll try my best to remember what my opponent had, but it’ll be rubbishly recalled, you’ve been warned!:

  • Avatar of Khaine (Warlord)
  • Warlock Council (3)
  • Unit of Wraithguard (AP2 flamers… Yikes!)
  • Unit of Eldar Biker Troop Things
  • Unit of Fire Dragons
  • Unit of Guardians with a Scatter Laser
  • Horrible Nasty Lancewielding Flier (I’ve forgotten it’s name!(I think it was a Crimson Hunter))
  • Several Wave Serpents for various transport/killing functions
  • I think it’s called a Night Spinner? The Eldar Basilisk, basically.
  • 3 War Walkers

I think that’s all. Oh wait, I forgot:

  • A Wraithknight

I had little idea of what most of this stuff did! But here was my list to deal with it:

Loyalist Space Marines:

  • Chaplain with Jump Pack (of course)
  • 5 man Assault Squad with Plasma Pistol and Power Fist
  • 3 5 man Tactical Squads, one with flamer, one with heavy bolter/power weapon, one with multimelta/power weapon. All in Rhinos.
  • 5 man Scout squad with cloaks and snipers, and Telepot Homer
  • 2 Land Speeders with 2 Heavy Bolters on each
  • Dreadnought with Missile launcher and Assault Cannon
  • Stormtalon with Skyhammer Missile launcher and Twin Linker Assault Cannon, in reserve
  • 5 Terminators with Assault Cannon and Chainfist, Deep Striking
  • 5 man Assault Terminator squad with TH/SS, inside…
  • MY BRAND NEW SHINY LAND RAIDER HOHOHO
  • 5 man Dev squad with 3 Lascannons
  • 5 man Dev squad with 3 Missile Launchers

With the lists done, I was wondering how I would fare against this unknown army to me?

Turn 1 Eldar: Shooty shoot shooting! That’s what I learned straight away. Eldar are hard to pin down, and they sure as hell can shoot. The assault squad around my Chaplain all but melted away to the fire from the Wraithknight, but thankfully little else was hurt, as Night Fighting gave me the advantage of distance. A scout was exploded by the Avatar of Khaine, though.

Turn 1 SM: The proud, fresh Land Raider hurtled forwards, unleashing hammernators galore right in the Avatar’s face. The terminators then went straight for the Wave Serpent next to it, and smashed it lots and lots and lots. The rest of the space marines moved up, and tried to focus fire on the Wraithknight. It laughed it off.

Turn 2 Eldar: Immediately, the Eldar Flier turned up and destroyed my Land Raider. Just like that. I was sadface. The War Walkers outflanked, and the Avatar, having shot the Land Raider then watched the flier break it, had little to do but wait for the now inevitable charge from the Assault Terminators. To help, though, the Fire Dragons managed to melta 1 of them into the ground.

Turn 2 SM: No reserves for the marines at the start of turn 2. The Chaplain, not at all perturbed by the horrific deaths around him, zoomed off to join the slightly diminished Asssault Termie squad, then they as a unit charge the foul Avatar! In a brutal combat, the Avatar survives on 1 wound, and another Marine is taken down. The rest of the table sees failing to hurt the Wraithknight and cowering from any Eldar that get too close in a very un-space-marine like manner.

Turn 3 Eldar: The War Walkers arrive outflanking and mince themselves a dreadnought. The combat between the Avatar and the AT/Chaplain sees the entirety of both sides destroyed, except for the plucky Chaplain. That’s two squads killed around him so far…

Turn 3 SM: The Storm Talon arrives and destroys the Eldar Flier in revenge! In the meantime, the Chaplain joins another squad, this time a Tactical Squad, as they attempt to charge some bikers that have strayed too close.

…To be honest, I don’t remember much after that. I had a great time, with a great opponent, and I was so focussed on the game, I managed to forget both photos and hindsight. I remember a close (well, it felt close to me!) game, with the Chaplain zipping around joining this squad and that squad, and some utterly brutal shooting from the Eldar, especially the Wraithknight.  I do remember a funny moment which saw an individual Devastator locked in melee with the Wraithknight. I think it was the same one that fought off two Chaos Spawn single handedly against Nurgle. I must promote him, and name him Tactical Marine Ironballs.

In the end, the score was hugely in the Eldar favour. As far as I recall, it was something like this:

Final tally: Eldar

  • Slay the Warlord
  • Linebreaker
  • 3 Objectives
  • 3 Heavy Support

Iron Devourers

  • First Blood
  • Slay the Warlord
  • 1 Objective

Result: Crushing Eldar Victory!

I’ll make sure to take more pictures and remember more next time, but here are the snaps I managed to snap!

Leave a Comment

