Terra World Cup Battle Report: Chaos Space Marines & Tau vs Iron Devourers & Inquisition: 1500 Points


The Terra Cup is a fun little light-hearted league being held over at Vanguard to coincide with the World Cup. There are some crazy rules a little later on, and some unusual mission types (including one that involves an actual football), so stay tuned over the next couple of months for them! The general rules are basically normal games of 40k with as much extra gubbins as you want. So, dataslates, formations, lords of war, Legion of the Damned, whatever you want, you can have it (so long as it’s deemed ‘legal’ by the extensive 40k official list allowances).

My first match was against Sceleris. I’ve played him before, and he whooped me. He plays Chaos Space Marines, typically Nurgle based, and I had tried to beat them up in hand to hand. I wasn’t going to make that mistake again! Sort of…

The missions in the Terra Cup are pre-determined, so we already knew this was going to be a 1500 point The Scouring mission with Vanguard deployment. It made list building tricky. Do I include extra Fast Attack, knowing they can score? Or do I include less, meaning I relinquish less victory points when they inevitabley get shredded? I’d made 5 or 6 lists for this game, and couldn’t decide which flavour to go for. In the end, I decided ‘to hell with it’ and went for a fun list full of punching. I like punchy lists. I’d also decided to include my brand new Inquisitor Medicus, an Ordo Xenos Inquisitor, because I wanted to try something out with him. More on that later. Here are the lists and game type!

The Scouring1500 points, Vanguard Deployment. Opponent: Sceleris Location: The Old Duke, Bristol, via Bristol Vanguard.

IRON DEVOURERS & INQUISITION

  • MARNEUS CALGAR (with Terminator Armour)
  • 10 man Troop Squad with Plasma Cannon
  • 5 man Devastator Squad with 4 Plasma Cannons
  • 5 man Assault Terminators with TH/SS
  • 5 man Scout Squad with Snipers and Camo Cloaks
  • Land Raider Redeemer
  • Storm Talon Gunship with Twin-Linked Lascannons

Inquisitorial Detachment:

  • Inquisitor Medicus, Ordo Xenos Inquisitor with Psyker Upgrade (Hammerhand), a Force Sword, and
    •  Frag Grenades
    • Krak Grenades
    • Rad Grenades
    • Psychtroke Grenades
    • Psyk-out Grenades (can you see a theme?)
  • Inquisitorial Warband-
    • Death Cult Assassin x4
    • Crusader x2
    • Ministorum Priest
    • Chimera

And that was that. Not that many bodies on the board for me, as you can see. I was intending on smashing forwards with the heavy hitters, whilst providing looong range support with the Devs, and hoping to pinch a late-game objective or other fast attack with the flier. Also, I was desperate to see how my new lovely Inquisitor and his posse would do! With all those lovely grenades he can really make things interesting.

CHAOS SPACE MARINES & TAU EMPIRE

  • Chaos Lord with Mark of Nurgle and Power Weapon
  • 8 man Plague Marine Squad with 2 Meltas in a Rhino with a Dirgecaster
  • 8 man Plague Marine Squad with 2 Meltas in a Rhino with a Dirgecaster
  • 4 Chaos Spawn with mark of Nurgle
  • Obliterator with Mark of Tzeentch
  • Obliterator with Mark of Tzeentch

Tau Detachment (I apologise in advance if I fluff this up. Crazy Tau and their weapons and things!)

  • Tau Commander with Smart Missile System, Drone Controller and two Marker Drones
  • 2 Broadsides:
    •  1 with Skyfire and a Twin Linked Rail Rifle and Heavy Rail Rifle
    • The other with a Twin Linked Plasma Rifle.. I think?
    • two Shield Drones
  • 1 Squad of Kroot
  • Tau Remora Drone Stealth Fighter (Oooh, Forge World!)

A surprisingly un-punchy Chaos list mixed with some nasty Tau backup. But I’ll be fine… right..?

If you could sum up your list in 3 words, what would they be?
Sceleris: Different. Unlikely alliance.

What do you think is going to be your Man Of The Match?
Probably the run of the mill Plague Marine squads – solid, dependable 7/10 sort of guys. Unless they run into lots of AP2 wounding on 2+ or rending stuff (ie pretty much all of Dom’s eldar list!) they’ll hang around (Note: Dom, or Crimson Dom, is a player I’m due to play soon. I’m scared.)

What would you have taken with another 250 points?
Possibly run a flying daemon prince or squad of possessed, or bump up the allies a bit.

I feel like interviewing myself as well this time. So, here’re my answers!

If you could sum up your list in 3 words, what would they be?
Grey Knight Wannabes.

What do you think is going to be your Man Of The Match?
I’ve brought MARNEUS CALGAR again, but I’m really hoping Inquisitor Medicus is going to bring the pain and steal the show. He’s a new model, in a warband of new models, so I’m excited to try them out!

What would you have taken with another 250 points?
MOAR TERMINATROS. I love terminators, and I love taking them. But in reality, I’d possibly bring some bikes or Land Speeders, or maybe a Vindicator.


On to the battle!

I won the first roll and chose the table side full of buildings, and Dave won the second roll, and chose for me to go first and deploy first. Fine by me!

I deployed my army in cover where I could, and stuck the heavy-hitters right in the middle.

I got the warlord trait that lets me twin-link a unit (boo!), and I can’t remember the Chaos one. Something that didn’t make a difference!

So I get ready to take my first turn, and Dave casually and vindictively rolled a 6 and successfully stole the initiative.

It was going to be one of those games.

Turn 1 CSM: Turn one went to the dishonourable Tau and Chaos, and saw the Chaos units rolling towards the Space Marine lines, and the objectives. Most of them were on my table side, the 3 and 4 point ones, so it was important that he flush me off of them. The Kroot jumped on an Objective first turn, right next to the Raider with MARNEUS CALGAR and his Terminators in. Bad idea!

The Tau acted as the Tau do and shot me a lot. The entire Scout squad, with what should have been 2/3+ cover saves (boo hoo!) were wiped out, save for the sergeant. ‘Ignores Cover’ hurts scouts. It didn’t help that I’d failed every single 4+ armour save too, but hey ho! I’ll get all my bad luck out the way early! Using Calgar’s ability I chose for him to fail like a coward and run back towards my lines to deny a First Blood.

Turn 1 SM: I shunted my Land Raider and Chimera forward, and MARNEUS CALGAR and his Hammerposse jumped out to squish some Kroot.

There was very little for me to shoot as Dave had positioned himself well, but I shot what I could and inflicted 2 wounds on a Spawn. Take that! Ha! Two of my Devastators ‘Got Hot!’ though, but managed to not die, which was nice.

Assault saw MARNEUS CALGAR’s unit absolutely murder most of the Kroot, who swiftly ran away. If a Character can sweeping advance, but his unit can’t, which takes precedent? We let them have the benefit and flee like cowards. Next turn MARNEUS CALGAR was in a great position to inflict some serious hurt on the Chaos army.

New Phone_20140520_030
Mah house!

Turn 2 CSM: Turn Two CSM saw both Oblits arrive by Deep Strike, and the Remora flew in. The Plague Marines each disembarked, ready to lay some hurt into the Loyalists. The Tau Commander jet packed around like an alien ballerina.

Shooting now. Seeing the obvious threat, the Chaos focussed fire on MARNEUS CALGAR and his unit. That’s a hard unit to take down in any circumstance, barring D weapons, as everyone was T:4 with a 2+/3++ (4++ for Papa Smurf), and MC has 4 wounds himself. Doing the maths, it would take roughly 90 Bolter Shots fired by Space Marines to take down 5 Hammernators, and another 72 to kill MC alone, not including special weapons. Even with Meltas, it should take a bunch. So, it was going to take some work!

The two obliterators killed 2 Hammernators with their combined 6 Plasma Cannon hits. Not a great start, but almost statistical, so I wasn’t too worried. Then came the unit of 8 plague marines with their combi-bolters. Pah! I know no fear!

Firstly, I took a bunch of wounds, around 11 or so. Hmm, more than average, but not to worry. I then proceeded to lose TWO Hammernators(!), which sucked! I decided to take the other two wounds in the pool onto MARNEUS CALGAR, who proceeded to fail both of his Armour Saves, bringing him to 2 wounds. Ouch!

The two Meltas shot last, both hitting and inflicting 2 more Wounds onto Marneus. No biggie, I decided to Look Out Sir! them.

Double 1s. Ah.

That’s ok! 4++ invulnerable save + Eternal warrior!

2 fails. Oh.

And MARNEUS CALGAR went down. In turn 2. TO BOLTER FIRE.

So many terminators dead in one round. That sounds familiar.

And what’s worse! The Tau managed to destroy my Inquisitorial Chimera, exploding it! Miraculously, none of the occupants were hurt (Thank god for majority toughness), and they were immune to pinning because of the priest. However, now the remaining Tau and Chaos had some non-superhuman targets to murder, and murder they did. The Crusaders took a brilliant amount of hits, but eventually fell. All in all, I was left with just the Inquisitor and his 1 wound, and the priest.

So in ONE shooting phase I’d lost both MARNEUS CALGAR, half of his Hammernator Squad and pretty much my entire inquisitorial detachment, PLUS I’d given out First Blood/Slay the Warlord. That’s 285 points for MaCa, 90 for his hombres, and around 150 or so for the Inq’s retinue, AND 2 VPs. I’d rank this is the worst ever shooting phase I’d ever been involved in!

In assault, the Chaos Spawn ate my last remaining scout for breakfast. Poor sod.

Turn 2 SM: In my turn, after I’d finished wiping away my tears, I decided to do what I could to salvage what I could. My Storm Talon flew in with the intention of killing the Tau Commander for no other reason then I wanted to instagib him with a Lascannon. The Land Raider surged forwards, ready to roast some Plague Bacon. My Inquisitor left his retinue of 1 and joined the local 5 man Tactical Squad next to him, ready to charge the Plague Marines. I was desperate to show off my grenades.

In shooting, I lost a Devastator to ‘Get’s Hot!’, but managed to inflict a respectable amount of wounds with them. I also managed a good amount of wounds with the Flamestorm Cannons + Assault Cannon, 13 in total. Across two Plague Marine squads, that’s a lot of wounds. Well, it would have been, had Dave not successfully rolled NINE of his 5+ Feel No Pains. THAT IS NOT STATISTICAL. Nuffle, why have you forsaken me?

The Storm Talon managed to kill the Commander’s drones, but left the commander unscathed. Curses…

With my utterly lacklustre shooting phase over, it was time for Assaults. I had 3 Hammernators left, and they wanted revenge. They were going to pop an Obliterator, then charge the Lord and take him down! Perhaps I should have charged the Lord first, but I wanted to try and whittle them down, as Plague Marines can dish out a lot of punishment. As you can see from earlier, it didn’t work. Psh. Anyway, they made their charge, and were locked in melee with an Obliterator, who hilariously managed to survive 3 instant-killing wounds and take out a Hammernator in return. WHHHY.

Across the field, the Inquisitor and his new, shinier retinue charged the Plague Marines. In this glorious charge, the Inquisitor FINALLY got to do what he was meant to do, and that is hurl a bumload of grenades at once and cause carnage! His Rad Grenades meant the Plague Marines were at Toughness 4 instead of 5, and his Psychtroke Grenades meant I was hitting automatically, AND the Plague Marines were reduced to one attack each. Casting Hammerhand also meant that my Marines were Strength 5 (4 for the Inquisitor). So I’ve gone from hitting on 4’s and wounding on 5’s (6’s for Inq) to hitting automatically and wounding on 3’s (and 4’s). His other grenades also make enemy psykers and daemons strike last, as well as having Assault Grenades, meaning obviously he won’t suffer the initiative penalty for charging through difficult terrain. Fairly handy for a 85 point model! Imagine if he was with the Hammernators… That combo means you can insta-kill Riptides, Hive Tyrants, most Monstrous Creatures. You’ll even be wounding a Wraithknight on a 2. Beautiful! The only downside is that it only lasts for the first round of combat, so you gotta make it count.

Anyway, I killed around 3 Plague Marines and lost a few, so it didn’t matter much anyway. Ah well. And my sergeant got squished. 😦

 

New Phone_20140520_030
Before

 

 

New Phone_20140520_047
After…sniff…

Turn 3 CSM: In shooting, there wasn’t much left to shoot! The Spawn charged my Devastators, the Tau blew up my Priest, and everyone else failed to kill my Raider.

In assault, my last Combat Squad was charged by the Lord and his group, and mostly murdered. The Obliterator and Hammernators failed to hurt each other, and the Inquisitor was unfortunately pulpled by a powerfist. Sad times.

Rest of the Battle

Unfortunately, the rest of the battle was much the same. All of my units, barring my Land Raider and Storm Talon, were in combat getting eaten. The Hammernators eventually beat the Obliterator before being killed by more Plague Marine shooting. The Storm Talon was gunned down, the Devastators munched by Spawn. The only thing that survived on my end was the Land Raider, who carried on burning people off of objectives until the game ended on Turn 6. It wasn’t close, which was a shame! I was utterly and totally destroyed. Losing Calgar was a huge blow, and one that definitely shaped the game.

We talked about the game afterwards, and decided Dave stealing the initiative had a real impact, as it meant that I was responding to him, rather then me setting the pace. I unleashed Calgar early in response, and that led to him being compromised and killed. It didn’t help that I had some horrendous rolling, but that’s what you get in a game of chance! Otherwise, what’d be the point?

 

Final tally: IRODEVOURERS & INQUISITION

  • Nothing! Not a sausage!

Total: 0

CHAOSPACE MARINES & TAU EMPIRE 

  • First Blood
  • Slay the Warlord
  • Linebreaker
  • 1 Fast Attack destroyed
  • 1 Objective – 3 points

Total: 7

Result: CHAOSPACE MARINES & TAU EMPIRE Victory!

 

Post game interview time!

Who was your man of the match?
As things panned out pretty well across the board it’s a bit hard to say. The PM squad that put pay to Calgar certainly played their part at the beginning – shame they all fell to the redeemer at the end. The Tau commander worked nicely without really killing too much stuff but being a pain for you.

Who was your flop of the match?
Despite nailing the flyer and the Inquisitor’s chimera the two broadsides didn’t really do to much. I think the fact that they really only had the Raider to go for probably explains it.

Anything you would have done differently?
If things hadn’t gone so badly for you with Calgar and his termies I think I should have run the spawn nearer one of the PM squads for added combat punch (but in the end didn’t need it).

Do you think one more turn would have made a difference?
No.

Any closing thoughts?
You were really unlucky to lose Calgar the way you did. The Inq is fun and if he gets in with a decent CC squad those grenades would be a real pain for a turn.

 

Who was your man of the match?
I’d say the Land Raider Redeemer. The only unit of mine to survive until the end, and when he was positioned correctly, he really brought the pain with his Flamestorm cannons. A+.

Who was your flop of the match?
MARNEUS CALGAR. He let me down hard. Investing 285(!) points into a single character is always risky, especially in a smaller game. Failing two 2+ armour saves on the terminators in front of him, then two on CALGAR himself,  then failing two 2+ Look Out Sirs, THEN two 4+ Invuln Saves was bad.

Anything you would have done differently?
I’m not sure! Rolled better? I probably would have ignored the Kroot with my Terminators and gone straight for the Chaos Warlord and squishy Tau. Also, I would have taken more bodies!

Do you think one more turn would have made a difference?
No, I don’t think it would have. I might have been able to wash off the rest of his troops, but I still would have lost. It would have been nice to melt some more plague marines… 

Any closing thoughts?
Don’t forget that the tides of battle can change immediately and without warning!  If you’d told me to be careful of those 8 plague marines firing bolters, I would have laughed and pointed at my 5 Terminators and MARNEUS CALGAR, proud of their 2+/3++ & 2+4++/4W respectively. I would have been wrong.

Stay tuned. Next game, coming soon…

 

 

 

One thought on “Terra World Cup Battle Report: Chaos Space Marines & Tau vs Iron Devourers & Inquisition: 1500 Points

Leave a Comment

